about the exchange

Learn more about the history behind this iconic building, the family that helped restore it to its former glory, and the team that makes every visit one to remember.

The entrance gate with a welcome sign of The Exchange.

family run

The Exchange is owned and managed by Hunt Leisure — part of the three-generation Hunt Group of businesses. Today, there are multiple family members involved in running the four venues that make up the development. All of us are committed to building a legacy for future generations to enjoy, including those that work in, live in, or visit Brigg Town.

A landscape shot of The Exchange building.
The Doghouse facade.

local focus

When we commenced the extensive renovations required to bring this historic Grade 2 listed property back to life, our motivation was simple — to create a unique venue for a town we all feel close to and love. We’re proud that The Exchange respects the heritage, community and tradition of Brigg, while offering new choices in dining, drinking and entertainment for locals and visitors alike.

An assortment of glass of beers.
The Doghouse facade.

dedicated team

Our management team is supported by a fantastic group of talented professionals, including hospitality, kitchen, and bar staff. They strive to ensure that each visitor to The Exchange receives a warm welcome — and the highest standards of service — whether they’ve called in for a quick drink, or checked into the hotel for a full week.

The Doghouse facade.

the history of
the exchange

During its long history, the building has served a range of purposes. Once owned by lawyer Robert Owston and known locally as “The Old House”, it was sold in 1862 and became a private girls’ school run by Miss Kate Mundey.

After the turn of the century, the school expanded under the leadership of Mrs Percy Hawkridge to admit both boys and girls, with a playground on the building's flat roof — which seems unimaginable today!

Inside the building of The Exchange.

The school closed in 1910 when Mrs Hawkridge moved away from the area, and was purchased by a group of local wealthy farmers for use as a social club. Renamed “The Exchange” after the Corn Exchange where the group first met, the building reportedly saw a good deal of money won and lost over the King William card table and billiard table — both still in place today.

The Old House School Brigg.The Old House.

In 1944, with D-Day on the horizon, The Exchange hosted Prime Minister Sir Winston Churchill during his morale-building visit to the nearby Scunthorpe Steelworks — and top-secret discussions with Sir Barnes Wallis, inventor of the “bouncing bomb”.

Throughout World War II, the building was home to Brigg’s own “Dad’s Army”, providing a base for the local Home Guard. Their legacy came to light again in 1984 when a sealed room containing weapons, uniforms and paperwork from the period was discovered during renovations.

The Exchange building back in the day.
The Exchange building across the street.

Now, after painstaking restoration, this Grade 2 listed building has been restored to its former glory. We look forward to welcoming visitors from Brigg and further afield to visit us for a meal, a drink or an overnight stay, and hope to create many more cherished memories over the years to come.

book your stay with us

Follow the link below to choose your preferred suite and see availability for your selected dates.

book today
The Exchange building.